Sunday, July 28, 2019

Update 29th July

CAPTAIN'S PRIZE - Seamus Gallagher’s weekend was a great success with the largest field of entrants for any Captains Prize of the past decade. Conditions were ideal for golf with day being dry, warm and cloudy with little wind, so it was unsurprising that scoring in the first 18 holes was  particularly good. Committee Cup winner Lewis Shaw had a nett 58 at this point just leading Lochlainn Conboy by 2 shots, and Lewis held his nerve in the playoff to emerge as the winner of the Captain's Prize for 2019. Lewis and the other winners received their prizes in a presentation shortly after the conclusion of the play off. Seamus paid tribute to the numerous volunteers in the club who helped him with his Captain's Day and noted the strong entry, particularly notable for several younger members featuring strongly.
Back l-r Vincent Egan, Michael McHale, Cillian Conboy, Cillian Doyle, Michael Rush, Lionel Lynn, Joey Mullaney, Mary O’Hara, Mark Kennedy.
Front - Charlie O’Donnell, Kathleen Candon, Seamus Gallagher, Lewis Shaw, Lochlainn Conboy, Lorcan Egan

The prizewinners were as follows -

Winner Lewis Shaw, 2nd Lochlainn Conboy, Gross Charlie O’Donnell, 3rd Vincent Egan, 18 nett Frank Flanagan, Past Captain Michael Rush, Seniors Michael McHale, Category 0-13 Adrian King, 14-20 Shane Loftus, 21-28 Cillian Conboy, 1st 9 Lionel Lynn, 2nd 9 Mark O’Donohoe, 3rd 9 Lorcan Egan, Student Prize Cillian Doyle,Visitor Mark Kennedy. 
Captain's Prize to the Ladies -1st Kathleen Candon, 2nd Regina McLoughlin, Gross Mary O’Hara, 3rd Joey Mullaney.

A special word of thanks to member Tom Kearney whose business Quality Meats, Sligo generously sponsored all the meat for the barbecue held during Open Week and again on Captain's Day.

No comments:

Post a Comment