Monday, September 28, 2020

Update 28th September


GOLFER OF THE YEAR - Well done to Lochlainn Conboy who topped the Order of Merit to take this years Golfer of the Year title. Tadhg Lowe really put it up to him by winning the last competition of the series on Sunday the 27th, the King Cup, but Lochlainn also picked up some points on the day which kept him in the top spot. Second place in the King Cup went to Padraic O’Connell and Jonathan Egan was third. Congratulations to new member Colin O’Sullivan on winning his first prize in the club, having had the best gross score on the day.


THURSDAY COMPETITIONS - This Thursday’s competition is the last mens’ midweek competition scheduled for 2020. Winners on 17/9 were 1st David Wynne, 2nd Lochlainn Conboy, 3rd Seamus Gallagher, all on 20 points. Sean Heslin and Martin Wynne split the 2s club pot between them.

Conor Hamill was the clear winner on Thursday the 24th with 23 points for his 9 holes. 


MONTHLY DRAW - September’s winners were - 1st Therese O’Daly, 2nd Ted Hester, 3rd Michael Gilmartin. First prize each month is 120 euro with 2nd and 3rd each receiving 60.

Monday, September 21, 2020

Update 21st September


RESULTS The winners of the “Shambles” competition held on Sunday the 20th if September were as follows - 1st Lochlainn Conboy, Conor Hamill,Michael McHale and Pat Brogan 125 points, 2nd Gary Carty, Gerry Carty, Padraig O’Connell and Paddy McLoughlin 125 points, 3rd Lorcan Egan, Vincent Egan, John McGuinn, Brendan Gaffney 108 points.


CONDOLENCES - Sincere condolences from all at Boyle Golf Club to Liam and all the Whyte family on the recent death of Margaret.


BEST WISHES - All at the club wish a speedy recovery to one of our most loyal members, Lionel Lynn, after his recent injury.


AGMs - AGM season is approaching, with a provisional date for the overall club AGM of 6/12/20. The mens’ and ladies’ sections AGMs will be held on dates prior to that. There will most likely be an EGM also ( Extraordinary General Meeting) as there  may be changes in the governance structure of the club with one of the mooted changes being the dissolution  of the mens and ladies with the management committee taking on these committees’ previous roles. This would require changes in the constitution of the club, hence the need for an EGM. Dates for these meetings will be published soon.


Sunday, September 13, 2020

Update 14th September

RESULTS - Well done to Lee McKillen who won the Drumderrig Cup with 5 shots to spare after having a 60 nett. In second was Brian Furey with 65, Sean Heslin took the prize for best gross score and Gerry Carty came 3rd with 66.

Tish Perry was the winner of the ladies event.

ORDER OF MERIT - There is only one event left to count for Golfer of the Year points. The order of merit has been constantly changing and this Sunday saw Lochlainn Conboy overtake Martin Daly to take the lead with 47 points to Martins 45. Liam Mullaney is not far off with 39 points, followed by Tadhg Lowe on 32. Any of the above could still win the overall title as there are 15 points available for the winner of the last GOY event, the King Cup on the 27th of September. There are points available for the other highest scorers as per usual.

Monday, September 7, 2020

Update 7th September

Captain Therese O’Daly presenting Mary O’Hara with the Lady Captains Prize

LADY CAPTAINS PRIZE - Congratulations to Mary O’Hara who won Therese O’Daly’s Lady Captains Prize on Sunday the 6th of September. Therese presented Mary and the other winners with their prizes in a presentation held outside the clubhouse on the evening of the competition.

The list of winners was as follows -
1st Mary O’Hara, 2nd Susan O Mahoney
Best Gross Score Tish Perry, 3rd Peggy Feely, 4th Caroline Carty. 
Handicap Category 1 Liz Dwyer, Category 2 Aisling Gaughran, Category 3 Marie Hanmore-Cawley, Past Captain Moira Egan, Front 9 Eithne Gaffney, Back 9 Regina McLoughlin.
Beginners Competition - 1st Eileen Callaghan, 2nd Catherine Roddy.
Nine Hole Competition - 1st Patti Dowd, 2nd Marie Gallagher, 3rd Eileen Jackson.

Lady Captain Therese O’Daly presenting Liam Mullaney with his prize for winning the Lady Captain’s Prize to the men

The Lady Captain’s Prize to the men was played on Sunday the 30th of August.
1st Liam Mullaney 42 points, 2nd Niall Kearney 40, Best Gross Brendan Gaffney, 3rd Lee McKillen 40.

The mens’ Thursday competition on September the 3rd was won by Jim Suffin, in second was Mark O’Donohoe with Lochlainn Conboy coming 3rd. The 2s club pot was claimed by Seamus Gallagher.

MENS OUTING - The mens’ section went on an outing to Castle Dargan Golf Club on Sunday the 6th, kindly organised by Michael Rush. The winners were - 1st Jim Suffin, 2nd Ross Andrew , 3rd Lorcan Egan, 4th Brendan Gaffney, Front Nine Niall Kearney, Back Nine Lee McKillen.

THANKS - are due to Martin Daly who has volunteered his time to do some much needed painting around the clubhouse.