Sunday, August 25, 2019

Update 25th August

The mens’ 12 hole Stableford played on Thursday the 22nd saw the following prize-winners - 
1st Michael Simon, 2nd Lorcan Egan, 3rd Sean Heslin, all on 27 points, separated by countback.
The 2s club was also won by Sean Heslin. Michael Reid was the generous sponsor on this occasion.
The Town Traders competition, played as a 4 person Rumble, was won by the team of Patrick Egan, Jonathan Egan, Mark Whelan and Paul Brown with 123 points. In second place was the team of Lorcan Egan, Lochlainn Conboy, Paul Connolly and Conor Hamill on 122. In third place also with 122 were Liam Mullaney, Pat Conroy, Michael Rush and Paddy McLoughlin.

Our weekly men’s competition takes place again this Thursday, with Sunday the 1st September the date for this year’s King Cup, played as an 18 hole Stableford.

Sunday, August 18, 2019

Update 18th August

RESULTS - This year's competition in honour of James Shivnan was won by James’s old fourball partner and friend, Michael Simon. Michael was presented with the James Shivnan Cup by Mary Shivnan at a presentation in the clubhouse. Sean Heslin came 2nd, Patrick Egan won the gross and Dave Purser came 3rd. The visitors prize went to David Gaffney.

The mens’ 12 hole Stableford played on Thursday the 15th saw the following prize-winners - 
1st Vincent Egan 28 points, 2nd Tom Kearney 28, 3rd Lochlainn Conboy 27
The 2s club was split 5 ways between Brendan Gaffney, Lewis Shaw, Owen Garvin, Willie Tiernan and Kevin O’Connor.

Mary O’Hara, winner of the Lady President’s Prize, with Geraldine McDermottroe, Lady President

LADY PRESIDENTS PRIZE- Geraldine McDermottroe’s Lady President’s day took place on Sunday the 11th of August. The winner of her prize to the ladies was someone who puts in a lot of work for the club in her role as Competition Secretary, Mary O’Hara. The other prizewinners were the following - 
2nd Moira Egan, Gross Liz Dwyer, 3rd Tish Perry, Category A Susan O’Mahoney,Category B Kathleen Candon, Category C Carmel Conlon, Past President Joey Mullaney, 1st nine Ruth Hogg, 2nd nine Claire Cryan, 9 hole Eileen Jackson, Visitors Prize - Ann Keenan. 
Aine Tivnan won the Lady Beginners Competition. 
Lady Presidents to the Men- 1st Gerry O'Dowd, 2nd Patrick Egan, Gross Vincent Egan, 3rd Jimmy Dwyer.

INTERCLUBS - Best of luck to our men’s Connacht Shield team who take on Ballina GC in the next round of the tournament this week having knocked out County Sligo Golf Club in the first round.

FIXTURES - Our weekly men’s 12 hole stableford continues this Thursday. Michael Reid is this weeks sponsor. Next weekend is the Boyle Town Traders Shambles competition, please support our local business community who are such generous sponsors of our club.

RULES NIGHT - The club will hold a rules night this coming Wednesday the 21st in the clubhouse at 7.30. Mainly aimed at new members, male and female, but all are welcome. We thank club member and GUI rules official Jim Mooney for once more generously donating his time in facilitating this event. 

Sunday, August 11, 2019

Update 12th August

Pat Conroy and Michael Reid are this years Foursomes winners having defeated Charlie O’Donnell and Jimmy Dwyer in the final.

Our men’s team claimed a great scalp during the week by putting Co Sligo Golf Club (Rosses Point) out in the first round of the Connacht Shield. Well done to Vincent Egan and Lewi Shaw for their wins in Boyle, but a special mention for Willie Tiernan and Padraig O’Connell for their away win in Rosses Point. The team play Ballina GC in round 2.

The Bank Holiday Rumble was won by the in-form trio of Lochlainn Conboy, Cian Smith and Mark O’Donohoe with 96 points, followed by Michael Reid, Michael Simon, Frank Flanagan with 94 points, with the 3rd spot going to the 88 points of Pat Conroy, Michael Rush and Tom Kearney.
The mens’ 12 hole Stableford played on Thursday the 8th saw the following prize-winners - 1st Michael McHale 29 points,2nd Lorcan Egan 26, 3rd Paul Brown 25.
The 2s club was divided between Jonathan Egan and Lorcan Egan.

Geraldine McDermottroe’s Lady President’s day took place on Sunday the 11th of August. The winner of her prize to the ladies was someone who puts in a lot of work for the club in her role as Competition Secretary, Mary O’Hara. Other results to follow next week. 

The winners of the club draw for the past few months are as follows - 
June - 1st Vincent and Moira Egan, 2nd Jim Mooney, 3rd Ted Hester.
July - 1st Jonathan Egan, 2nd Vincent and Moira Egan, 3rd Peggy Feely
August - 1st Liam Whyte, 2nd Brendan and Susan Gaffney, 3rd Sean Heslin.
1st - 70 euro, 2nd and 3rd 40 euro apiece. The club draw costs 10 euro per month, it is a vital source of income for the club, all members are encouraged to consider joining. If interested contact Liam Mullaney or Paul Connolly, or put up a message on the members WhatsApp group.

SPONSORSHIP - Thanks to Paul Brown for sponsoring a television for the bar.

Sunday, August 4, 2019

Update 5th August

RESULTS - At the time of writing, the club's Bank Holiday Rumble was ongoing so results will follow next week. 
The 12 hole Stableford completion played on Thursday the 2nd of August was notable for the fact that we have to congratulate our Competition Secretary Lorcan Egan on recording his first ever “hole in one” during the competition. He celebrated the occasion appropriately.
The overall results were- 1st Tom Kearney 28 points, 2nd Lorcan Egan 28, 3rd Michael Rush. Jonathan Egan won the 2s club pot.
The 18 hole Strokeplay competition that took place on the weekend before the Captain’s Prize saw the following result - 
1st Conor Hamill 64, 2nd Paul Connolly 66, 3rd Ross Andrew 68.

THURSDAY RESULTS - Due to pressure of space the following results of some of the mens’ Thursday competitions had to held over til now -
20/6 - 1st Lochlainn Conboy 29 points, 2nd Padraig O’Connell 28, 3rd Paul Connolly 27.
11/7 - 1st Michael Reid 27 points, 2nd Lewis Shaw 31, 3rd Patrick Egan 27,
and Michael Rush won the 2s club. Lewis came second rather than first due to the fact he was the sponsor of that day’s competition.
18/7 - 1st Michael Simon 31 points, 2nd Michael Rush 28, 3rd Michael Gilmartin 27.
25/7 - 1st  Kevin O’Connor 26, 2nd Lochlainn Conboy 26, 3rd Ross Andrew 25
and the 2s club pot was split between Michael Rush, Lochlainn Conboy, Seamus Gallagher.