Sunday, December 2, 2018

update 3rd December

Sean Heslin and Tom Kearney have developed a virtual monopoly on 1st and 2nd place in the mens' competitions recently and so it proved again this Sunday the 2nd of December. In this week's 18 hole competition, they both had 40 points, with Sean just shading it on countback. Paul Connolly came 3rd with 37 points and Patrick Egan had the best gross score.

Next Sunday's competition is another 18 hole stableford with the club's Christmas Bonanza competition taking place on the following Sunday, 16th of December. This is a very social event and is much looked forward to every year - partly because every participant gets a prize! So if you haven't had the joy of walking up to receive a prize in 2018, this might be your last chance (even if it is only a selection box).

The overall club AGM was held in the clubhouse on Sunday the 2nd with the  following elected as officers for the management committee for 2019.
Chairman (and mens' captain) - Seamus Gallagher,
Honorary Treasurer - Paul Connolly,
Greens Convenor - Willie Tiernan,
Junior Convenor - Brendan Gaffney,
House Convenor - Vincent Egan,
Childrens Liaison Officer - Jim Mooney.

A number of officers of the mens' and ladies' committees are automatically appointed to the management committee including the outgoing mens and ladies captains , Terry Canning and Marie Hanmore-Cawley, the incoming lady captain, Regina McLoughlin and the mens and ladies competitions secretaries , Lorcan Egan and Mary O'Hara. The following will serve as ordinary management committee members - Patrick Egan, Jonathan Egan, Sean Heslin (also men's president), Liam Mullaney, Gerry O'Hara, Michael Simon, Susan O'Mahoney, Liz Dwyer and Mandy Toolan.