Monday, July 26, 2021

Update 26th July

Committee Cup winner Lee McKillen receiving his prize from Men's Captain Jonathan Egan

COMMITTEE CUP - Congratulations to Lee McKillen who won this year's Committee Cup after a 9 hole play-off, in which he played in a superb 2 over par gross. 2nd Mark Whelan, 3rd Michael Bannon, 27 gross Brendan Gaffney, Category 0-15 Lorcan Egan, 15 - 25 Jason Beirne, 24 + Mark Feehan. Front 9 Gerry Nerney, Back 9 Seamus Gallagher, 3rd 9 Ryan Daly. Ladies 1st Michelle Quinn, 2nd Susan O’Mahoney, Ladies 27 Gross Tish Perry. 

RESULTS - Mark Feehan won

the Mens’ 12 hole held on Thursday the 22nd of July with 29 points, 2nd Brian Furey  28, 3rd Conor Hamill 27. The 2s club was unclaimed and rolls over to next week.

The Bart Moran Cup was won by Gabriel Lavin with a fantastic 48 points, Jim Suffin was 2nd with 47, 3rd was Mark Feehan with 44. Brendan Gaffney had the best gross score.


INTERCLUBS - Congratulations to Sean Heslin’s Jack O’Sullivan Cup team who had a resounding victory over Rosses Point this week, winning all 3 home matches in Boyle which clinched the win, while the 2 matches called in in Rosses Point were 1 up and level respectively. In the next round they take on the winners of Carrick On Shannon versus Strokestown.


CLUB DRAW - July 1st Jim Mooney, 2nd Seamus and Marie Gallagher, 3rd Conor Hamill. 1st Prize 100 euro, 2nd and 3rd 60 apiece.


Sunday, July 11, 2021

Update 12th July


Cian Smith accepting 1st Prize in the Presidents Prize 2021 from Padraig O’Connell

Men's President Padraig O’Connell's prize was played on Sunday the 11th of July in very challenging conditions weather-wise, although the course remained in excellent shape throughout.

Cian Smith was a very popular winner of this year’s President's Prize and carried his great form of a 64 nett into the 9 hole playoff to emerge victorious. In second was last year’s Captain's Prize winner Martin Daly, with son Ryan taking 3rd place, and Lochlainn Conboy returning to form to take the prize for best Gross.

The presentation took place for the first time ever in the beautiful location of our putting green due to restrictions in place on the use of the clubhouse. 

Other prize winners - 18 nett - Conor Hamill, Past President - Owen Garvin, Senior - Pat Brogan, Category 0-13. - Lee McKillen, 14-20 - Tom Kearney, 21+ Sean Purcell, 1st 9 - Liam Mullaney, 2nd 9 - David Gallagher, 3rd 9 - Gerry Nerney.

President Prize to the Ladies

Aisling Gaughran accepting 1st Prize in the Presidents Prize to the Ladies from Mens’ President Padraig O’Connell

1st -Aisling Gaughran, 2nd Marie Hanmore-Cawley, Gross Tish Perry, 3rd Liz Dwyer.


Sunday the 18th of July is the date for this year's Bart Moran Cup for the men and the Niamh Nangle Cup for the women.


Conor Hamill won the Men's 12 hole held on Thursday the 8th of July with 30 points, 2nd Frank Casserly, 3rd Gabriel Lavin 29. The winner of the 2s club was Brendan Gaffney.


Commiserations to our  All Ireland Fourball and Pierce Purcell teams who exited their competitions in the past week. Next up is Sean Heslin’s Jack O’Sullivan Cup team later this month.

Sunday, July 4, 2021

Update 5th July

PRESIDENTS PRIZE - Men's President Padraic O’Connell's prize will be held next  Sunday the 11th of July. We hope that Padraic has better luck weather-wise with his President’s than his Captain’s Prize when play had to be abandoned due to torrential rain and postponed to the following Sunday. Hopefully lightning doesn’t strike twice (literally).

The competition will be in the time-honoured format of an 18 hole Stroke followed by a 9 hole playoff.

The current Covid restrictions mean that there will be some differences from our usual Presidents Day. There will be no food on the day, alcohol can be consumed outside only. It is hoped to hold the presentation outside on the putting green if weather permits, if not, it will be deferred to the following Sunday.

FIXTURES - Sunday the 18th of July is the date for this year's Bart Moran Cup for the men and the Niamh Nangle Cup for the women.

RESULTS - The James Shivnan Cup competition was played on Sunday the 26th of June and this year's winner was Brian Furey with 41 points, 2nd Mark O’Donohoe 40, 3rd Jim Suffin 40, Gross Brendan Gaffney 40.

Brian Furey continued his great week by winning the Mens’ 12 hole held on Thursday the 1st of July with a fantastic score of 33 points, 2nd Adam Daly 30, 3rd Gerry Nerney 29. The winner of the 2s club was Pat Conroy.

Sunday the 4th of July played host to the PGA Tankard. The playing conditions deteriorated as the day progressed, so players in the afternoon were always going to be up against it to beat early riser Tommy King’s 44 points. 2nd place went to Marc O’Connor, Gross Brendan Gaffney, 3rd was Gabriel Lavin.

INTERCLUBS - Best of luck in this week's interclub matches to John McGuinn’s All Ireland Fourball team and Liam Whyte’s Pierce Purcell team.

THANKS - to Martin Daly and Lee McKillen who have offered to clean up and re-paint our benches. Ivor Parkes Painters and Decorators have very kindly sponsored the materials for the job.