Sunday, April 24, 2016

Update 25th April

Last Sunday saw the annual Voucher Competition take place. Well done to Sean Heslin who won the men's voucher with a score of 63 nett off a 10 handicap, in 2nd was Niall Kearney 65, Gross Brendan Gaffney (8 Over Par), 3rd Sean McLoughlin 66. In the Ladies Lucky Strike competition, first place went to Paula Cull, 2nd Tish Perry, Gross Peggy Feely, 3rd Annette Bartlett. 

Other results from last week include the Men's Open on Thursday last which was won by Michael Gilmartin 20pts, 2nd Michael Rush 19pts, 3rd Michael Reid 19pts.

Friday Evening's Scramble was won by Terry Bright, Susan O'Mahaney & Tommy King. 

Aisling Gaughran won the Ladies White Elephant 9 Hole Stableford last Tuesday with 19 points. In second place was Marie Hanmore-Cawley with 18 points.

Competitions for this week are Thursday's Men's Open and a Scramble on Friday Evening. Following the Scramble, there will be a Quiz and Curry Night in the clubhouse. Tickets for this are €15 which includes a free entry into the scramble, and can be purchased from any committee member. Food is from 8pm and the quiz will commence at 9pm. It promises to be a great social event and has become somewhat of a regular event in our social calender in recent years. Thanks to Susan and Brendan for organising it. 

The first major of the year, the Committee Cup, will be competed for next weekend. Ladies will take to the course on Saturday in attempt to qualify for the playoff on Sunday Evening. Gents will play on Sunday also with the intention of qualifying for an extra 9 holes that evening. Holder Charlie O'Donnell will in no doubt be eager to retain the title. Tee times are filling up fast so place your name on the online timesheet you wish to play. 

The March/April draws took place in the clubhouse on Sunday evening.                                                                        
March results: Winner - Liam Whyte €70, Runners up Ross Andrew & Carmel Conlon €40. April Results: Winner -Liam Whyte €70, Runners up Mary/Denis O’Donnell & Mary O’Hara €40. Congrats to all the winners and thanks to all who took part.

Commiserations to the All-Ireland Fourball Interclub team who were narrowly beaten by Ballinamore last Friday on a scoreline of 3 matches to 2. 

Belated Birthday wishes to Tony Murphy who celebrated reaching a significant milestone, surrounded by a large circle of family and friends in our clubhouse recently. It was a reminder of how suitable the venue is for such events and it is available for bookings all year round. Contact the club if you wish more information. 

Sympathies are extended to Tommy and all the King family on the recent passing of Betty. Ar dheis dé go raibh a hanam.

Sunday, April 17, 2016

Update 17th April

Our Interclub season opens this Friday with an away fixture against Ballinamore in the GUI All-Ireland Fourball Competition. Our side is captained by Willie Tiernan. Best of luck to all concerned! 
Sunday's GOY Round 2 18 Hole Stroke was won by Vincent Egan 65 nett, 2nd Seamus Gallagher 66, Gross Patrick Egan 75, 3rd David Wynne 67. 
Last Thurday's Mens Open Competition was won by Patrick Egan 19 pts (c/b), 2nd Sean Heslin 19 pts & 3rd was Michael Reid 18 pts. 
Friday Evening's Scramble was won by Brendan Gaffney, Gerry O'Hara & Annette Bartlett. 

Both Thursday's Men's Competition and Friday Evening Social Golf continues this week. 
On Sunday next April 24th, the Ladies and Gents Voucher Prize will be competed for. The format will be an 18 hole strokeplay competition. All tee times must be booked online.
Also, the timesheet for the Committee Cup will open this Wednesday. 

A quiz and curry night has been arranged for Friday April 29th. Watch out for further details regarding that!

Finally, a reminder in relation to membership fees.
"2016 Membership Fees are now due. Please forward to Geraldine McDermottroe, Membership Secretary, Carrick Road, Boyle. Members interested in paying by direct debit please call Michael on 086 203 9182.

Thank you to all who have paid membership to date."

Monday, April 11, 2016

Update 11th April

The result of last Sunday’s Holmpatrick Cup is as follows:
1st: Owen Garvin & Michael Costello 41pts (c/b)
2nd: Jim Mooney & Brendan Gaffney 41pts 
3rd: Patrick Egan & Lorcan Egan 39pts
Well done to Owen & Michael, they will represent the club at the county finals later in the year. 
Thursday 7th April Men’s Open:
1st: Brendan Gaffney 21pts
2nd: Tom Kearney 20pts
3rd: Seamus Gallagher 20pts
Competitions for this week:
Thursday April 14th – Men’s Open Competition 
Friday April 15th – Social Golf Recommences (9 Hole Scramble)
Sunday April 17th – Men’s 18 Hole Stroke & Ladies 18 Hole Stableford
A signup sheet is now available on noticeboard for King Harmon Cup. Draw will take place on Thursday 28th April.
Looking further ahead, the first major of the year – ‘The Committee Cup’  will take place on Saturday 30th April for Ladies & Sunday 1st May for men.
Top 8 Ladies & top 15 men and ties will qualify for an extra 9 holes on Sunday evening.

Monday, April 4, 2016

Update 4th April

Last Sunday's GOY 18 Hole S/Ford was cancelled due to flooding on the course. 
Men’s Open 9 hole: The result from the  last Thursday was as follows:
1st Tom Kearney 21pts
2nd Patrick Egan 20pts
3rd Charlie O’Donnell 19pts
This Week’s Competitions:
§  Thursday Open 9 Hole S/Ford Sponsored By Jonathan Egan
§  Men’s Holmpatrick Cup Fourball Betterball Sunday 10th April 
§  Ladies Voucher Sunday 10th April
The Result from last Saturday’s outing to Tullamore Golf Club:
1st Patrick Egan 36pts
2nd Terry Canning 35pts
3rd Sean Heslin 35pts
Ladies Section            
1st Sandra Mc Crann  
2nd Liz Dwyer 
3rd Susan O’Mahoney

Thank You to all who attended!