Monday, June 1, 2015

Update 1st June

Inaugural Committee Cup
Well done to Charlie O’Donnell who won the inaugural Committee Cup in an exciting finish on Sunday evening. Charlie took a one point lead into the final round and narrowly pipped Lewis Shaw and Gary Carty by half a shot. Well done to Peggy Feely who was the overall Ladies winner. At the presentation Mens Captain Michael Rush thanked Lady Captain Sandra McCrann and all who had taken part or helped in any way to make the competition a success. He thanked the Course Committee; the Grounds man Charlie Beirne and all the volunteers for the great condition of the course. He thanked Mary for the excellent food and Vincent and Patrick for looking after the Bar. He also thanked Moira and Sandra for helping to prepare the prize tables. The winner Charlie O’Donnell said he was delighted to win and commended the club on the new competition. He thanked his playing partners on the day and thanked everyone for their good wishes. Peggy Feely thanked the Club for organising the competition and said she was delighted to win. She complimented the greens committee on the great condition of the course and thanked Charlie and all the volunteers.

The full list of winners are as follows
Winner Charlie O’Donnell, Mens 1st Lewis Shaw, Ladies 1st Peggy Feely, Mens 2nd Gary Carty, Ladies 2nd Liz Dwyer, Mens 27 Gross Sean Heslin, Ladies 27 Gross Tish Perry, Mens 3rd Martin Wynne, Ladies 3rd Attracta Keville, Categories 0-18 Liam Whyte, 19-24 Shane Loftus, 25-36 Regina McLoughlin. 1st Nine Jonathan Egan, 2nd Nine Pat Brogan, 3rd Nine Michael Rush

Special well done to Gary Carty who had an “Albatross” on the 5th. According to club members this is thought to be the first Albatross on the course and therefore a historic achievement.

The Nurture Africa draw took place Sunday evening. Karen Carty thanked club members for their support. Susan O’Mahoney, Brendan Gaffney and Mary McDermott were among the prize winners.

Thursday night’s Mens Competition was won by Shane O’Dowd 27pts, 2nd Vincent Egan 26pts, 3rd Michael Rush 26pts. Fridays Scramble was won by Charlie O’Donnell, Moira Egan & Sean McLoughlin, 2nd Michael Rush, Michael Simon & Eamon Perry, 3rd Sandra McCrann, Liam Mullaney & Liam Whyte

This coming Saturday will be the Horse and Summer Show Classic; details on the website and notice board. Teams of four are €100 including hot meal. Tee times can be booked on line or by calling 086 8645797 or 086 2039182. Funds raised will go towards the Horse and Summer Show to take place in August. All support appreciated

Other Competitions for this week are the Mens Competition on Thursday night, Friday is social golf with a nine hole scramble and next Sunday is an 18 Hole Stableford. Dates for your diary are the Bartley Moran trophy on June 14th.

In Inter club news well done to our Jimmy Bruen and Mixed Foursomes who won during the week. Good luck to our seniors who play Strokestown on Thursday.

The semi-finals of the Mens Foursomes take place this week between Jim Mooney/Cillian Doyle and Jonathan Egan/Seamus Gallagher and Charlie O’Donnell/Ted Hestor and Michael Reid/Michael Gilmartin

The meetings of the Ladies, Mens and Management Committees will take place this Wednesday evening.

No comments:

Post a Comment