Sunday, June 27, 2021

Update 27th June

 FIXTURES- The PGA Tankard competition for the men will be on Sunday the 4th of June, and the first of this year's majors, Mens’ President Padraic O’Connells prize will be on Sunday the 11th of June. Sunday the 18th of July is the date for this years Bart Moran Cup for the men and the Niamh Nangle Cup for the women.

RESULTS - The James Shivnan Cup competition was played on Sunday the 26th of June. Results are delayed due to an issue with the computer touchscreen. A new one has been ordered and should arrive in the next week. 

The Drumderrig Cup was played for on the 20th of June by the ladies and men’s sections. The winner was Charlie O’Donnell 64 nett, 2nd Marie Hanmore-Cawley 65, 3rd Paul Brown 66. Gross Karl Keenan.

In the Mens’ 12 hole held on Thursday the 24th the winner on count back with28 points was Adam Daly, with Tadhg Lowe taking 2nd place with the same score and Kevin O’Connor came 3rd. The winner of the 2s club was Paul Connolly.

INTERCLUBS - The first round victory of John McGuinn’s All Ireland Fourball team’s on Tuesday meant that Boyle knocked the big guns of Rosses Point out of 2 competitions in the space of 4 days. This match was a tighter affair ; by 9 o’clock that evening each side had won 2 games apiece so all was dependent on the final game in Boyle. Shane O’Dowd and Pat Brogan were all square with their opposites after 18 holes, so it was to be a “sudden death” finish, with the next pairing to win a hole deciding both the game and overall match outright. They each halved the 19,20th and 21st holes before Boyle finally won this game and the overall match on the 22nd. Congratulations again to all. Both our Pierce Purcell and All Ireland Fourball teams now take on Strandhill in their respective second rounds.

Paddy McLoughlin’s Seniors’ team came extremely close to making it 3 out of 3 for Boyle against Rosses Point in 1 week, but the “sudden death” finish went against Boyle this time, with the deciding game being won by Rosses Point on the 19th hole on their home turf. It could not have been any closer, but it was great to see a good performance in a grade the club has traditionally been weak in.

CLUB DRAW - Winners of the club draw in July were - 1st Paddy McLoughlin, 2nd Jonathan Egan, 3rd Frank Flanagan.

1st place gets 120 euro, 2nd and 3rd 60 apiece. Entry envelopes are available at the clubhouse noticeboard or you can set up a direct debit for 10 euro per month to the clubs bank account at the following IBAN : IE59  BOFI 905328 22439700.

No comments:

Post a Comment