Sunday, August 11, 2019

Update 12th August

Pat Conroy and Michael Reid are this years Foursomes winners having defeated Charlie O’Donnell and Jimmy Dwyer in the final.

Our men’s team claimed a great scalp during the week by putting Co Sligo Golf Club (Rosses Point) out in the first round of the Connacht Shield. Well done to Vincent Egan and Lewi Shaw for their wins in Boyle, but a special mention for Willie Tiernan and Padraig O’Connell for their away win in Rosses Point. The team play Ballina GC in round 2.

The Bank Holiday Rumble was won by the in-form trio of Lochlainn Conboy, Cian Smith and Mark O’Donohoe with 96 points, followed by Michael Reid, Michael Simon, Frank Flanagan with 94 points, with the 3rd spot going to the 88 points of Pat Conroy, Michael Rush and Tom Kearney.
The mens’ 12 hole Stableford played on Thursday the 8th saw the following prize-winners - 1st Michael McHale 29 points,2nd Lorcan Egan 26, 3rd Paul Brown 25.
The 2s club was divided between Jonathan Egan and Lorcan Egan.

Geraldine McDermottroe’s Lady President’s day took place on Sunday the 11th of August. The winner of her prize to the ladies was someone who puts in a lot of work for the club in her role as Competition Secretary, Mary O’Hara. Other results to follow next week. 

The winners of the club draw for the past few months are as follows - 
June - 1st Vincent and Moira Egan, 2nd Jim Mooney, 3rd Ted Hester.
July - 1st Jonathan Egan, 2nd Vincent and Moira Egan, 3rd Peggy Feely
August - 1st Liam Whyte, 2nd Brendan and Susan Gaffney, 3rd Sean Heslin.
1st - 70 euro, 2nd and 3rd 40 euro apiece. The club draw costs 10 euro per month, it is a vital source of income for the club, all members are encouraged to consider joining. If interested contact Liam Mullaney or Paul Connolly, or put up a message on the members WhatsApp group.

SPONSORSHIP - Thanks to Paul Brown for sponsoring a television for the bar.

No comments:

Post a Comment