Wednesday, August 3, 2016

Update 3rd August

Captain’s Prize
The Captain’s Day for 2016 took place last Sunday with a large number of members competing for Ross Andrew’s Prize. The best score after the first 18 holes was brought in by student member Cillian Doyle with an excellent 60 nett. David Wynne was two shots further back on 62 while this year’s President’s Prize winner Tommy King sat in sole third on 64 nett. The cut for the third nine fell at 68 with 15 players inside this mark. It was Brendan Gaffney who emerged from the chasing pack adding a 33 over the final 9 holes to his starting score of 66 for a total of 99. This proved to be a target that was unable to be beaten by any of the other 14 players. This is Brendan’s second major victory adding to his win in the 2015 edition of the event. 

A guess the winner competition was held on the day with Jim Mooney being the only person to predict correctly. The proceeds of this competition goes to the Mayo Roscommon Hospice. 

At the presentation Brendan expressed his delight at winning the Captain’s Prize and thanked all the various personnel involved in making the day a success. He commented on the close knit nature of the club and the importance of the strong sense of friendship within it. He also wished us to remember those who are no longer able to be active in club circles due to ill health. 

The presentation of prizes included the Captain’s Prize to the ladies which was held the previous Sunday where Liz Dwyer claimed the top prize. 

Also a presentation was made to Gary Carty in recognition of his course record score of three under par on President’s day. 
Full Result: 
1st Brendan Gaffney
2nd Tom Kearney
27 Gross Sean Heslin
3rd Dave Purser
18 Nett David Wynne
Cat 0-13 Liam Whyte
Cat 14-18 Pat Conroy
Cat 19-28 Tommy King
1st Nine Cian Smith
2nd Nine Jim Mooney 
3rd Nine Jonathan Egan 
Past Captains Eamon Perry
Senior Michael Bannon
Student Cillian Doyle
Visitor John Tiernan
Nearest the Pin Sean Heslin 
Longest Drive Cillian Doyle 

Captain’s Prize to Ladies
1st Liz Dwyer
2nd Kathleen Candon 
Gross Tish Perry 
3rd Sandra McCrann

Other Results

Par 3 Competition Thurs 28th July
1st Sean Heslin 41pts
2nd Cillian Doyle 41pts
3rd Pat Conroy 38pts
Ladies: Patty Dowd 36pts

Scramble 29th July
1st Charlie O’Donnell, Gerry Carty & Paul Connolly

Thurs 4th August – Gents 12 hole Open Competition
Fri 5th August – Social Scramble
Sat 6th August – Last Man Standing 
Sun 7th August – 18 Hole Stroke (Sponsor: Lorcan Egan Insurance )

Club Matchplay
The King Harmon Cup has reached the semi final stage. Jonathan Egan takes on Shane Loftus while on the other side of the draw Seamus Gallagher plays Sean Heslin. 

Interclub Golf
Our Interclub season has come to a close with a defeat in the first round to Ballaghaderreen on Tuesday. It was a closely fought contest with the deciding match going against us on the 20th hole.
Thanks to all who represented the club in the various cups and shields during the year. 

Golfer of the Year

With double points being allocated for the Captain’s Prize, Brendan Gaffney has leapfrogged his way into 2nd place on 67 points. Gary Carty continues to lead on 74 points. Sunday will provide another opportunity for players to gain valuable GOY points. 

No comments:

Post a Comment