Sunday, November 11, 2018

Update 11th November

RESULTS - The 18 hole stableford played on Sunday the 6th of November was won by Brendan Gaffney with a fine score of 43 points, Patrick Egan was second with 40 points, Terry Bright claimed the gross with 37 points and Tom Kearney was third with 38 points. Another 18 hole stableford was played on the following Sunday, the 11th , and the winner on this occasion was Dave Purser with 40 points, beating the 37 points of Michael Rush in to second place. Lorcan Egan took the gross with 37 points and Sean Heslin was third with 36 points.

FIXTURES - Our winter 9 hole competition continues this week and can be played any day from Monday to Saturday with unlimited re-entry also available. The competition for Sunday the 18th will be an 18 hole stableford.

KING HARMON - The King Harmon matchplay competition is almost at an end for 2018 with just two men left standing - outgoing captain Terry Canning and new member Mark Whelan. Both men have claimed some notable scalps on their way through the tournament, but only one man will see his name engraved on to the base of the King Harmon Cup for this year. The tournament has been a fixture for several decades within the club and is one of the most sought after prizes of the golfing year in Boyle. 

MENS AGM - The AGM of the mens club was held on Sunday the 11th. Captain Terry Canning thanked his committee for their support during 2018 and also thanked the men who had volunteered in any capacity for the club during the year and also those involved with interclub teams. He was happy to note that the construction of the new shed had gone well and was expected to be concluded in the coming weeks. He wished every success to the incoming mens' captain for 2019, Seamus Gallagher.
Martin Wynne's report as Secretary included thanks for the support he had received from Terry and also some of the other officers of the men's club during the year, particularly from Michael Rush in his capacity as Competition Secretary. He noted that Michael Rush had made a very successful change to the sponsoring of Sunday competitions this year which involved local businesses who had traditionally contributed sponsorship to the clubs Open Week to instead sponsor a particular Sunday during the year, thus ensuring good local media mentions for these businesses throughout the year.
The meeting agreed to enter the same number of interclub competitions in 2019 as in 2018. On a related note Vincent Egan proposed that interclub team captains undertake responsibility for co-ordinating the catering on the day of a match. This motion was carried.There was a discussion about the proposed merger of the ILGU and the GUI and the changes this may entail within the club. 
The following comprise the officers of the mens' committee for 2019 : - President- Sean Heslin, Captain - Seamus Gallagher, Secretary - Jim Mooney, Competition Secretary - Lorcan Egan, Handicap Secretary - Gerry O'Hara, Treasurer - Liam Mullaney, Communications - Jonathan Egan. The ordinary committee members are Willie Tiernan, Brendan Gaffney, Pat Conroy, Terry Canning, Patrick Egan, Vincent Egan, Paul Connolly, Gary Carty, Shane Loftus, Shane O'Dowd, Michael Simon and Tommy King.

LADIES AGM - The AGM of the ladies' section takes place in the clubhouse at 5 pm next Sunday the 18th of November. 

No comments:

Post a Comment